Grupo Planeta

MR Ediciones

The publishing company where readers can find answers, entertainment and fun

Martínez Roca is an innovative publishing house that owns a broad catalogue of fiction and non-fiction. It was founded in Barcelona in 1965 and became part of Grupo Planeta in 1992.

Its line of fiction features exciting novels that are aimed at a broad sector of readers. A highlight is the collection MR Novela Histórica, which brings to the catalogue authors such as Alberto Vázquez-Figueroa and Mercedes Salisachs, in addition to cult writers with re-editions of their classic works such as Naguib Mahfuz.

In non-fiction, Martínez Roca is a publisher of reference in large-format practical books and spirituality. In this last collection, the imprint has published such authors as Nobel Prize winner Kenzaburo Oé, the Dalai Lama, Elisabeth Kübler-Ross and Ramiro A. Calle.

Since the year 2001 this publisher has awarded the Alfonso X El Sabio Historical Novel Prize, the most prestigious in Spain in this genre. Over the course of its history the prize has been awarded to renowned authors and new talents alike. In the year 2012 the television channel Historia joined in with the organisation of the prize, contributing even further to its dissemination.

In 2010, Martínez Roca incorporated into its catalogue the winner of the Abogados Novel Prize. This competition is the result of collaboration with the General Council of Spanish Bar Associations and the Lawyers’ Mutual Benefit Society to promote in Spain a genre that is highly successful in English-speaking markets and to raise awareness of the sphere in which Spanish lawyers work.